Tags

, , ,

I-have-enough-money-to__quotes-by-Jackie-Mason-14

Let me just say it up front: if you have no interest in hearing me moan about personal finance accounting software, get out now. This is what’s on my mind at this exact moment, come back another day and, I promise, it’ll be something new and non-finance related. You have been warned.

I’ve never been good with money. I buy things on impulse and then baulk at some small cost that doesn’t make a difference. I’ve used personal finance software like Quicken and PocketMoney to keep tabs on things. They haven’t helped to curb my spending but at least I can gasp at how much money I spend on taxis each month (much less than I used to BTW).

Then my boyfriend and I bought an apartment together and decided to share a bank account. I don’t spend his money but somehow it’s really hard to keep tabs on what’s what. We have a complicated spreadsheet that rarely balances. I used to love Excel but now I’m beginning to distrust its maths skills. Surely, it can’t be THIS hard to track two people’s expenditure?? It MUST be Excel’s fault. Yeah, right.

I’m using PocketMoney at the moment but it’s crashing and, for a while there, some of the account balances weren’t matching up (cue more maths paranoia). Anyways, I’m trying to find to a new software. Xero looked promising but then no more Xero Personal and trying to use Xero Business for my personal stuff nearly made my head explode! So now I’m looking at Pocketsmith and YNAB but, with work, second job and full time study, it’s so hard to find time to get used to another software. Not to mention, everything’s in such a mess that I’m not sure if I can even blame the new software for the degree of difficulty I’m experiencing.

*Sigh* Sometimes I seriously question the merit of being a grown up. The legal drinking age thing is pretty sweet but, aside from that, the jury’s still out. I’m not talking about moving back home or anything unrealistic like that. Maybe something more along the lines of starting a commune for adults that want to find their inner child and avoid “adult problems”. Yep, much more realistic.

Fact #7: I used to be very good at maths, was always close to the top of my grade. Even enjoyed it to a degree. It’s logical, structured, has zero tolerance for whimsy. My kind of subject. But then I left high school and ceased to do maths on a regular basis. Nowadays, if I don’t have a calculator, I can barely add. I promise you, I am not exaggerating. My complete and utter collapse in maths ability has given me new respect for the phrase “if you don’t use it, you lose it”. I’m now going to apply this philosophy across my whole life as I am convinced it has wide reaching implications. What else have I stopped doing? Jazz dancing, league bowling, Brownies. Yep, I’m going back to being a nerd.

