Tags

, , , ,

Picture_22

This year I started working a night or three a week in my boyfriend’s bar. Things have changed a lot since working in a bar looked like the above picture… but it’s still a lot of fun. You get that active, social aspect that you don’t get working at your desk all day in an office.

Now, don’t get me wrong. My day job is still social just not in the same way as waitressing in a busy cocktail bar. I suppose I missed that human contact that comes with having a job that is pretty much just entertaining people and making sure they have a good time. Sure, it can be stressful and frustrating as all hell when you have a table of people that are determined to be the most annoying people on the planet. But, luckily that’s rare. Most people are out to have a good time and, when you explain things nicely, they are happy to do as you ask.

So, while I don’t really have time to work a second job, I do anyway. The money is good and I enjoy it. Sometimes, I finish work on Friday at 5pm and realise “oh crap, now I have to go at start another 8 hour shift” and I’m dead tired and dreading it. But, by the time I walk the 10 – 12mins to the bar and get on the floor, the moment has passed and I’m swept up in that Friday night feeling (even if I’m just assisting in the merrymaking and not actually participating).

Hey, I can definitely say that I wake up feeling a HELL of a lot better than the people I serve all night. 🙂

Fact #8: Yes, maybe I only assist in the merrymaking but I have found that, by the end of the night, I’m ready to start my own party. Unfortunately, this party starts at 1am so, by the time things get going, it’s 4am or 5am or 7am. Sadly, this seems to be the life of a hospitality worker, which would be all well and good if I didn’t have to work at 9am Monday with the rest of the corporate world. Such disparate lives I lead.

