Tags

, , ,

what-horrifies-me-most-is-the-idea-of-sylvia-plath

I wonder about this sometimes. It’s taken me until the well-seasoned age of 31 to realise that being the smartest or the hardest working doesn’t guarantee anything in life. You have to have drive and ambition and you have to ASK for things (something that really came home today). If you don’t ask, people will assume that you don’t want. Or that you’re happy with how things are. People will always try to get away with taking us much as they can while giving the minimum back. So you have to ASK. You might not always get what you ask for but at least they’ll realise you’re not just going to roll over and keep giving 100% for nothing in return.

And, to be honest, I would have kept on keeping on if I wasn’t told to speak up. I was so scared to say anything, to rock the boat, and it turns out there was nothing to be afraid of. It might even end up helping me and, if not, at least I won’t walk away feeling like I never stood up for myself. I have someone to thank for that and I’ll try and get onto it tomorrow. Credit where credit is due, right?

And what else? Well, I want to do well. I want to be productive. I want to be successful. I might not have a 10 year plan or a five year plan or even one year plan but I’m willing to take on anything new that comes my way. I want to try new things and widen my experience. To test my skills and see what I like and don’t like. I have two more years of uni so I feel like I’ve bought myself some time to just soak up the world and all it has to offer. I want to remain positive and feel like I’m valued.

I don’t know where I’ll end up but I feel like the journey is more important than the destination for the time being.

Fact: When I was little, I wanted to be a beautician, a doctor. Now, I manage a video and animation team and work part time as a cocktail waitress. Never would have guessed that one.

