Tags

, ,

imagesCA0Z3D22

I always thought that traveling for work would be really exciting – and sometimes it is. To be fair, I don’t really travel that much for work and, most of the time, I love it. But sometimes, I just want to be at home on the couch with the dogs and my partner and the heater. Tonight is one of those nights.

Usually, I love staying in new hotel rooms. I love unpacking all my stuff and exploring my new (temporary) home. It’s like a mini-holiday. I always get a room with a king bed so I can spread out and feel totally debauched in my huge expanse of glorious, unshared bedspace. I take a childlike glee in examining all the toiletry products, checking the mini-bar, stealing all the writing pads and pens (yes, and the toiletry products, I’m one of THOSE people).

But tonight, I just want to be at home. I want to have the dogs snoring on the floor beside the bed and someone snuggling me, hot and uncomfortable as it may be at times. I miss that now. How often we take for granted that which makes us feel safe and secure.

Granted, I’m only away two nights and, by my second or third night back home, I’ll be aggravated by the spooning but right now, right this very moment, I miss it.

Fact: my partner and I have definite ‘sides’ to the bed. If we sleep at someone’s house or in a hotel room, we still sleep on the same side of the bed as we would at home. This is non-negotiable. For example, at home, I sleep on the left side (as you lay on the bed) and I’m closest to the window, my partner is closest to the door. However, if we sleep somewhere else and the left side is closest to the door, I still sleep on the left side. I’m not sure how this works in other households but, in ours, these are rules to live by. No side switching!

