Tags

, , , ,

imagesAZTQUIT9

I am day #6 into a 31 day butt and legs challenge. Yes, yes, I know. Me and challenges have a fraught history. Me and commitment have commitment issues. But, I’m determined to keep trying. You never know, this might be the one that sticks.

The main challenge here, aside from doing all the legs and butt stuff, is reining in my terrible penchant for comfort eating. I get down, I eat crap. That’s just the way life is in my world. And lord knows, I find many, many opportunities to indulge my cravings. Why just today, I ate 6 pieces of mint Aero (one of the guys at work convinced me to try it and then I just kept eating), a strawberry roll-up, 6 chicken McNuggets and a small fries. Why? No particular reason. Today wasn’t really any better or worse than any other day. In fact, I was quite productive.

And that little cartoon above pretty much sums up the despair this eating cycle conjures. The nagging desire, the joy at the first few bites, the feeling of ‘what-the-fuck-have-I-done?’ that inevitably leads to the shitty feeling that makes me eat crap again. Although, let’s be honest, sometimes I do it just because it tastes good and I’m peckish.

Anyways, there are good things to speak of today. On Monday, my trainer got me to do un-assisted pull ups and I managed to do a few on my own before he needed to help me. I didn’t think I’d be strong enough to do any so I was pretty chuffed with myself. I’m sore as fuck today though and I have to go back tomorrow (with the promise of no arms or back, which is some comfort, I suppose).

Also, as part of my own little personal challenge, I managed 20mins worth of sprints (if you can call them that) and 60 each in squats, lunges and glute bridges. Tomorrow, I do that again (minus the sprints) and my personal training session. So, things are progressing.

24 days until I fly out for my Caribbean trip – feels like I’m cramming for an exam at the last possible minute. It’s worked for me in the past but this isn’t some simple exercise in memorising key historical dates. This is changing the physical structure of my body. Ah well, all we can do is try, right?

