Tags

, , , ,

imagesQ7FWO2JE

This was an interesting read. It drip feeds you information so it takes quite a few pages before you have a full idea of what’s going on. But then it also doesn’t give you all the answers. You get to the end and you’re left holding the book thinking ‘but wait! What about…? Oh and how about…?’

For me, this is not such an amazing thing. I can appreciate the open-ended-ness. I can appreciate the restraint it takes not to spell everything out but I WANT TO KNOW. I don’t want to come up with my own explanations. I want the writer to start, continue and complete the story with all the ends nicely tied up, or at least a little more tied up than it was in this book. Honestly, I don’t need to be spoon-fed everything but I enjoyed this book so much, was so intrigued by what was going on that I just wanted a little bit more closure, I think.

I really can’t say too much without spoiling things for would-be readers but it will definitely leave you wondering about many of the ethical dilemmas we face today. It’s beautifully written and quite funny at times. The protagonist is a bit prickly but I don’t know that I would be any different in her place.

All in all, this is a very fascinating book that raises some very deep, disturbing questions (for me, at least). However, even at surface level, it’s a pretty good story.

