Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_1603

I have to say, I’m really enjoying this whole working-three-to-four-days-a-week-and-having-my-days-free thing. It’s pretty awesome. It’s allowing me time to go to the beach, time to write, time to read my book in the park, time to look for a job and catch up with people. Hell, I’m even getting a driving lesson from my mum on Friday!

The adjustment period has been interesting. I did spend a few days wandering around the house wondering what to do, eating, watching TV, feeling lost. I’m not used to having so much free time during the day when I’m full of beans and thoughts and ideas. Previously, my free time was after work when I was tired and didn’t have much energy for anything aside from dinner and TV.

But I’ve gotten over my initial perplexity. My planning and organising genes have kicked into overdrive and we’re currently booked out socially until mid-February. However, in the interests of full disclosure, this has been somewhat assisted by the fact that I now only have three nights per week to work with. I’ve been planning my birthday away in March and a day on the harbour over the Australia Day long weekend.

I have to make the most of it because it won’t last forever. In March, I’ll start back at uni so that will chew up a fair chunk of my time. And, hopefully soon, I’ll have another part time job to keep me occupied. I’ve applied for two jobs in the last week so we’ll see how that pans out.

In the meantime, I’m enjoying the freedom. It’s nice to have time to think and do stuff during the day. It’s nice to be excited about what the year may bring.

