Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_1617

I had my first driving lesson on my shiny, new Learner’s licence today. Yep, 31 and on my third round of Ls. This time it’s going to happen, I can feel it. And, if my driving purpose is to “impress my personality on the road”, well then today’s personality was something along the lines of tense, terrified and yet strangely elated (when things went well).

To be honest, I don’t really need to be able to drive. Where I live has pretty good public transport and there’s always Uber or taxis and my partner drives but I suppose 30+ is a bit ridiculous to be unable to operate a motor vehicle. And I’ve had to pick up my partner from the hospital in a taxi before so… I suppose I’ll give it a shot.

My mum drove us over to the Domain where the roads are a bit quieter. Then it was my turn behind the wheel. God, it was nerve-wracking. Even at 30kms/hr (the speed limit in that area), I was freaking out. It felt so fast and cars were creeping up on me, impatient with my uneven speed and bright yellow Learner plates announcing to the world, “Look, I can’t operate this thing but I’m going to annoy the fuck out of you while I give it a try!”

I did some reverse parks and people sitting in their cars either sped off when they caught sight of my L plates or looked very concerned or bemused. I came to have a great appreciation for empty vehicles. Why someone would sit inside their car on such a beautiful day, I have no idea. But that’s a separate issue.

So yes, driving loops around the park, practising reverse parking, trying to avoid clueless pedestrians, all in a day’s driving lesson. I then treated my mum to gelato in the sun and she drove me back into the city in time for work.

Luckily, I’m over 25 so I don’t need to complete a log book tallying 120hrs driving time or whatever it is now. But I still need to be able to drive before I can go for the test. There’s a long road ahead of me, quite literally really.

