Tags

, , , ,

Photo 15-01-2015 12 09 47 pm

I think this is a pretty good mantra for life and what it really boils down to is this: take care of yourself. Take care of your body, outside and inside, take pride in yourself and respect yourself.

I’m a firm believer in the phrase, ‘if you don’t love yourself, no one else will’. Yet, I’m also someone who struggles to find a reason to love myself some days. I look in the mirror and don’t always like what I see. I question why people would want to be friends with me. I sometimes don’t think I’m funny enough or skinny enough or pretty enough. It can be hard to find your strength some days as we’re often so hard on ourselves for the smallest, most insignificant things.

All women have a responsibility to themselves. So often in life, we get cast as the caregivers, as mothers, wives, girlfriends, sisters, best friends, etc., and we get so wrapped up in taking care of others that we forget to take care of ourselves. Well, quite simply, there won’t be an ‘ourselves’ if we don’t take some time to make sure we’re ok.

And, yes, we’re busy. I’m not a mum and I’m only working part-time at the moment so I probably have a crapload more time than most but even I catch myself thinking – oh, do I really have time to go to the gym today? Or thinking about grabbing the unhealthy lunch because I ‘don’t have time’ to eat something healthy. It’s bullshit. There are many things I could not do to make time for the things I should do. And the world won’t end if I don’t do those unnecessary things or if I do them later.

Take care of you. That’s what you should do. And it rhymes as well so you definitely can’t argue with it.

