Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_1682[1]

I bought this book on the strength of Tom Wolfe’s Bonfire of the Vanities, which I really enjoyed. You can see a bit of some of those characters, especially the main dude (can’t remember his name), in some of those in this new book. Not a bad thing, I suppose. It’s his style of writing and there’s always (usually) going to be some crossover from book to book.

This particular book has taken me a loooong time to get through. Not because the storyline wasn’t good… it was. There were some twists and turns and it wove together well in most instances. It was his style of writing that drove me crazy. The punctuation was all over the place – truly weird stuff, like he just wrote his own rules – and the writer used a lot of repetition of words and phrases and interjected a lot of sentences with the sounds characters were making. I know why he did these things (maybe not so much with the punctuation). I get it. They serve their purpose. They just annoyed me. They made reading the book more difficult, more tiresome. Something reading should never be.

Aside from the punctuation and such, I did enjoy this book. I liked the way it made the city of Miami part of the story. I liked the larger than life characters, maybe a bit caricature-ish at times, maybe a bit stereotypical. I don’t know, I don’t live in Miami so I can’t say for sure if that’s what it’s like.

It was a decent read even if I didn’t rip through it as I did the last couple of things I’ve read. But then again, I do prefer to be totally possessed by a book, desperate not to have to put it down, desperate to know what happens next. But, then again, that’s just me.

