Tags

, , , ,

Photo credit: Chicalookate   

Even just a few weeks ago, I was in a very different place. Very stressed out and dejected about the whole job search process. These last few weeks, I’ve been feeling quite upbeat. 

Things seem much easier now that I’ve decided to stick with a part time admin job until I’ve finished my degree. Looking at all those writing jobs and knowing I wasn’t finished study AND didn’t have any experience was very depressing. I would apply but I’d know it wasn’t going to yield any results. Not without some sort of miracle. 

So I started to focus on admin. I have lots of experience, a good resume and stellar references. I’m happy to do temp work or something more permanent. My only proviso is that I need part time, nothing more than three days a week unless it’s short term. So I’ve signed up with a few recruitment agencies and have been on an interview (we’ll see how that goes, I should find out tomorrow). 
But, even though I haven’t found anything yet, I feel more positive about it. It just makes more sense this way, really. It will mean I can focus on my studies for the next year and a half and, with the second job, I can stop working Saturdays and have my weekends back. Which would be awesome. 

I’m starting to miss them. And yes, I have only really been working every other Saturday for the last few months but still, it’s a drain. Basically, I want my cake and eat it too. And, with the extra money from a second job, there’s no reason why I can’t have it! Yay. 

So yeah, from even a month or two ago until now, there’s a world of difference in my perspective. I know I can get a job with this approach. It’s just a matter of time til the right one comes along. I just needed to shift my expectations, be realistic about what I could really achieve at this stage of my studies. We’ll reconsider it all next year November when I’m no longer a student. Until then, let’s just get on with it, shall we?

