Tags

, , , , ,

  

Today is Mother’s Day in Australia and we have a full day of family adventures ahead of us. 

First up, my partner’s family thing at his sister’s house. His mum just got engaged so there’s a bit more than plain old Mother’s Day to celebrate. We have champagne and there will no doubt be plenty of food and cake. 

But what I’m really excited about is the jigsaw puzzle we have for my mum’s house. I spent a decent amount of time trying to find a good enough puzzle before work on Friday. One department store didn’t have any and the other’s biggest one was only 748 pieces – far too small for dedicated jigsaw puzzlers. Makes me wonder about the youth of today. So many of the toys were super commercial and just related to movies or TV shows, etc. So little was just good clean fun. Even Lego was Star Wars and so forth. Anyways, that’s a post for another day!

We ended up having to go to Toys R Us where we found a 1500 – wait for it, wait for it – Game of Thrones jigsaw puzzle!! It’s a map of Westeros with figurines for buildings, like Castle Black, Winterfell, etc. My mum doesn’t watch the show but she won’t care what the puzzle looks like and at least this way my partner might actually have some interest in joining us in pulling this masterpiece of mental problem solving together. He wasn’t very keen on our puzzle night before we found the GoT puzzle so at least it feels like it will be more of a family endeavour this way. 

Ignoring my partner, my sister, mum and me are big games people. Crosswords, Scrabble, cards, board games, you name it, we’re probably into it but jigsaw puzzles have a special place in our hearts. I remember sitting on the floor with mum surrounded by bowls filled with colour sorted puzzle pieces. Everyone was responsible for a particular section and we’d sit there for hours, just putting the puzzle together. The only sound would be us shaking the bowls looking for the right piece or the occasional exclamation of “Yes!!” when we solved a particularly tricky section. Might not sound like much but it’s incredibly satisfying to see the puzzle picture slowly materialising out of what was once a million little totally nonsensical cardboard pieces.

Thinking about it now, I’m so looking forward to this afternoon, just sitting round chatting, teasing each other, creating something together. It’s not often you do that nowadays. As a child, you take it for granted with all the colouring in and finger painting and PlayDoh. You don’t have to be a kid to enjoy that stuff. Invite your inner child out to play and have some good clean fun, I say. I saw an adult colouring in book the other day. I may just go back and buy it. 

Image credit: Jennifer Denecke | Pinterest

