Tags

, , , , , , , ,

10654876_290524647802022_1838371057_n

I woke up feeling soooo much better today. I don’t know if any of you do drugs or drink excessively on a regular (or even occasional) basis but I feel like I’ve just gotten over a terrible, terrible hangover/come down. Never have I woken up on a Monday morning feeling so bright and full of vim. Yes, vim. It’s a word, dammit, and it works here. I went to the gym. I applied for five jobs, soon to be six. I got some uni work done. You could say I’m feeling moderately invincible.

I suppose I just needed time (and support) to process everything and work my way back up to normal motivational levels. Still, it was a dark four days, two of which I had to work and, to be honest, I was really dreading it. I didn’t think I’d be able to find the enthusiasm and cheer required to be my usual sassy cocktail waitress self. But I did and being at work actually helped take my mind off things. Sure, I was drained as fuck by the end of the night but at least I hadn’t been lying in bed wallowing in despair. That never ends well (sleep is a mercy, really).

And now the week begins again. I’m feeling positive because I’ve finished the first draft of a uni assignment that’s due next week. Yes, the same one that I was struggling with yesterday; I came home from my day in the sun and nailed it, at least draft-wise. It will still need some tweaking and trimming (need to get it down to 1000 words, +/- 10%) but the hardest part is over. The hardest part being getting the story out of your head and onto the paper/computer screen.

I also managed to write another story that I thought might work instead of my first idea but I don’t know if I can flesh it out enough for it to meet the 1000 word guideline. If I can’t, I’ll use it as an unfinished fiction post in the next couple of days.

And that’s me out!

Image credit: Ifyoudare | Blogspot

