Tags

, , , , , , , ,

589682

Ok, so in the interest of full disclosure, I didn’t go for a walk or run as agreed as part of yesterday’s ‘get out there and do shit’ plan. I did do everything else though so I’m not going to be too hard on myself.

Today, I’m waiting for someone to come do the measurements for the new plantation shutters in our bedroom and, after that, I’ll head into the city for another job interview. Then it’s straight into work at the cocktail bar. So, no time for the gym today but I will be walking around almost constantly for a few hours so that has to count for something, right? Plus, I walked the dogs today so that’s a decent 30mins of slow paced exercise. I was going to walk into the city in time for the interview but then the shutter guy made his plans so I had to adapt.

I think the key here is being aware of what’s possible each day and prioritising accordingly. Don’t beat myself up if I don’t have time to do something because other things are more important. If I’m honest with myself about what I can seriously hope to achieve and then do my best to get it all done, then that’s a good day.

Basically, it’s OK to push myself but not pressure myself. I can do a lot but I can’t do everything and there’s no point forcing myself to do everything and then being exhausted and miserable. These things I’m trying to include in my life are meant to be making me happy, not more unhappy. Know what’s possible and get it done.

Motivational pep talk over. I’m outta here.

Image credit: Board of Wisdom

