Tags

, , ,

New_GivingUpAlcohol-01

This is my 27th day without alcohol; Dry July looks like it’s going to be a success. Yes, I have two days to go but there are no real temptations or obstacles in those last days so, failing a spectacular and totally unexpected blowout, I should make it.

I have to admit that I do feel better. Much more energy, less mood swings. I wish I’d been more on the ball with my gym attendance so perhaps I could have reaped some weight loss benefits from this whole experience but oh well. You can’t have everything. Going without alcohol for this long is a big enough achievement already.

Although, to be honest, we haven’t really done anything to test our will power. We cancelled a Cards Against Humanity night that probably would have broken us. Our friend was on a bit of a rampage and determined to have us join her so we pulled out at the last minute. Thankfully, another person needed to cancel too so it didn’t look too bad on our part. We did go out for dinner and dancing on Saturday night and, while some friends tried to tempt us into breaking our resolve, we stayed strong and had a good time dancing and went home at a reasonable yet surprisingly late hour.

This alcohol free-ness will all end on Thursday though and I’m actually a little afraid of what will happen. I haven’t really felt all that tempted over these past weeks. The only time I’ve really craved alcohol is when we’ve eaten out and I’ve seen the wine list and felt like a delicious glass of red would’ve been the perfect accompaniment. Other than that, not much temptation. And no terrible hangovers. That first hangover after such a long break is going to be killer.

I’d like to say that I’ll keep the alcohol consumption to a minimum forever more but we both know that’s a lie. But at least now I know how good it feels and hopefully that feeling will encourage me to be more moderate with my future consumption. Only time will tell…

Image credit: Greatist

