Tags

, , , , , , , ,

f0e37561849931458573c702de5700fd

I have a vivid memory of one of my aunts pinching her skin (on her arm, her leg, can’t remember where) and saying, “This is how you can tell the collagen in your skin is going.” I watched as her skin stayed bunched up for a little while before eventually smoothing out. We squeezed my arm and – boom! – my skin bounced straight back to smooth immediately. Things are a little different now.

Ever since I hit adulthood, I’ve started to realise how blessed I’ve been with my skin. As a child and teen, I was quite self-conscious about it; always too light or too dark, depending on where I lived at the time. But when you get to adulthood, you start to appreciate things. I never had much acne in school. Always had very smooth, soft skin when I took care of it. I go a beautiful golden brown come summer.

It still is good skin, I can’t lie, but now I notice how long it takes to bounce back. If I wear tight gym pants or jeans, the creases in my skin are there for much longer than they ever were before. I have always had skin that’s prone to dryness so now using a good moisturiser is extra important. I use a desiccated coconut, coconut oil and epsom salt scrub in the shower and macadamia oil afterwards and it works but… things just aren’t the same. My skin is still soft and silky to the touch but its a little bit more high maintenance about it all.

The passage of age is undeniable and in no place is it more obvious than the crazily thing layer of cells that covers our bodies and keeps us all in one piece. It wears the brunt of anything that comes against us and, in some ways, reflects what’s going on inside us, both physically and mentally. So much of what happens to it when it ages is genetic but still we can damage it by the things we do, by smoking, drinking, drugs, suntanning, poor diet. I’m guilty of all of these (except smoking – wait, does weed count? Let’s just say no) and yet my genes hold me in pretty decent stead. So far anyways. Best not to push it, I reckon.

Image credit: Joanna Neville | Pinterest

