Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

diet

The other morning, my partner and me went out for breakfast. I made the decision to forgo the pancakes in favour of something healthier. I have a wicked sweet tooth so this was a big deal for me. However, the cafe we were at has a huge pastry selection and, soon enough, I found myself staring longingly through the glass at all the beautiful sweet treats. Next thing I knew, I had a chocolate raspberry cake on my plate looking all tasty and delicious. I couldn’t not eat it now, could I? It had travelled too far to go to waste.

Partway through my scoffing of the cake, my partner turned to me and said, “How’s the gym going?” I haven’t been to the gym in… let’s say weeks. You know the saying if looks could kill… Well, Id be scratching this out on my one ply prison toilet paper by now if that were true. I should start by saying that he didn’t mean it. Our relationship is one where we’re constantly teasing one another. There’s constant banter and sassiness and, if you have a hang up, guaranteed you’d better get over it quickly or be prepared with some witty comeback. That’s just us.

Still, weight is such a touchy issue. I’m not fat or even plump but I am self conscious about my weight and I feel guilty when I don’t go to the gym for ages but still allow myself to eat cake and sweets like nobody’s business. I know better but, dammit, I just want to eat the damn cake. And why shouldn’t I allow myself a bit of dessert every now and again? Not every day, of course.

Actually, why not? Screw it, I should have cake whenever I want so long as I’m prepared to deal with the consequences. You only get out what you put in and if all I put in is cake well then… It would be a short but very sweet life. I’ve always said that if I had to choose one food to eat for the rest of my life, it would be cheese. Clearly things would go downhill swiftly for me in the health department if I was able to eat whatever I wanted with complete abandon. I actually think that’s my idea of heaven.

This post hasn’t really gone anywhere today. I’m going to quit while I’m ahead. 

Image credit: Vitamin Ha

