Tags

, , , , , ,

life-photography-quote-summer-Favim.com-598901

I’m definitely a summer person. Winter is not for me but summer… Summer is when all the fun happens. And the thought of spending summer trapped inside chained to my computer and my media law textbook was causing me some serious distress. I had last summer off because we went on holidays so I managed to escape it that time around. This summer looked doomed before it even began but then I had a brainwave: I don’t have to do this. I’ve never been against quitting for the right reasons and a study free summer seemed like the right reason to me.

So, I withdrew from my units. Looks like this summer’s going to be uni free. To say I’m excited and relieved is an understatement. Before I withdrew, I spent some time mapping out my units to see if my originally planned subjects would still line up if pushed back six months. They mostly do but, to be honest, I’m not sure if I want to continue down that path. I suppose I have six months to think about it now, don’t I?

I figured out that if I continue studying full time come March, I’ll be finished in May 2017. That sounds so far away but what does it really matter in the grand scheme of things? I’ll be 34 instead of 33. I still don’t know what I really want to do with this degree. May as well take some time off, reduce my stress levels and continue in autumn when my FOMO won’t kick in so much.

Ha. Who am I kidding? I always have FOMO so it’s never a good time to study but I still have every intention of finishing this degree. Just not over summer, dammit. I’ve never been one for delaying gratification. I’m all about the short term, baby

Image credit: Favim.com

