Tags

, , , , , , ,

00a30ad756d4de44fe4e7e9c1d006f7d.jpg
I’m at a bit of a loss as to what I call Jared now we’re engaged. Of course, fiancé is the standard term but I’m not a massive fan. It sounds so pose-y and pretentious. I’m pretty sure I’ve actually blushed and giggled like a goddamn fool when I’ve used it in conversation. Don’t laugh. This is something I’ve been pondering for a while now.
Even before the engagement, I wavered in what I felt was the correct word. Partner was always my preferred term. Boyfriend makes it sound like we’re twelve. Lover sounds flippant and I’m pretty sure I’m too young to be throwing that word around. Significant other? Other half? My betrothed? It’s a pity this isn’t a Bronte sister novel otherwise it would probably be the front runner in this list of singularly unappealing options.
Of course, there’s his name but how boring is that? Maybe I’ll go all Pulp Fiction on it and call him my honey bunny just to see what reaction I get. Doubt I’d be able to say it with a straight face but it would certainly make life interesting for a time. And I’m all about pushing the boundaries – what with my yellow wedding dress, my co-ed bridal party and my text message invites. Such a rebel I am.
