Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve spent the last few months, off and on, pulling together some ideas for a new tattoo I want. Actually, strike that, it’s something I’ve been contemplating for years, I just couldn’t make a decision about what I wanted. Do I want a pin up girl, something geometric, a quote? Arghhh! The possibilities are literally endless and, for someone as indecisive as me, it’s a goddamn nightmare. Add to that the fact that you’ll wear a tattoo on your skin for the rest of your life (unless you decide to remove it) and it’s something you kind of want to be sure about.

Well, I think I’ve finally made a decision. I’m going to start with something geometric down on my waist/hip and then eventually get my pinup girl on my shoulder/back but that won’t happen until after the wedding (I want to keep my back tattoo-free for my backless wedding dress). The below are some of the inspiration photos I sent to the tattoo artist, who I met for the first time a few weeks ago:

The first photo is the placement I like – on the hip/waist – and the rest are styles I like. I especially like the combination of dots and differently weighted lines on the shoulder and upper wrist tattoos. The colourful forearm tattoo is also really cool but the guy I’m going to doesn’t do colour so I may have to wait until next time (if there is one) to get something coloured. I still like the shape though.

I have my appointment booked in for mid-April but, based on what I know of this tattoo artist and what he’s said to me via email, I’m concerned that I’ll have to wait until I rock up on the day to see the design. Which doesn’t sit too well with me to be honest, I’m much more of a planner than that. I like to consider things from a million different angles and have a bit of time to dwell on whether I can really commit to something. This ‘draw up something on the spot’ thing puts a lot of pressure on me to like something as is or to at least be able to find something I like relatively soon after he shows it to me.

Am I too indecisive for that? Do I need to allow myself more time to decide? I feel like it’s not really in my nature to just wing it. No, I’m definitely not a wing-er. I’m a ‘sit down, map it out and then come back to it later to ponder it some more’ type of person. My friend that recommended this guy is convinced he’s awesome and will come up with something great and I have no doubt he will… but I need time to decide. And I just know I’ll put pressure on myself to decide, even if nobody means for me to feel that way. I’m sure the tattoo artist understands you need to be sure about something before you permanently carve it into your body.

Hmmmm… something to consider. I’ll just have to feel out how open this guy is to changes. Surely he would have to be.

