Tags

, , , , , ,

6657f708dfa1005438c2a49336722eda.jpg

Smell is such an important sense for me (and everyone else as well, no doubt). Certain scents can immediately recall a specific person, place or feeling. I love the smell of certain colognes or perfumes on skin. It’s like some scents were made for people and whenever you smell that scent, no matter how many people wear it, it will always vividly recall that one person who ‘owns’ that smell in your mind.

I love the smell of jasmine, lilies and frangipanis (separately, not all together). I love the smell of red wine and baking. The smell of coconut-scented sunscreen let’s me know it’s summertime. I love burying my face in Jared’s shirts after he’s worn them and smelling that combination of sweat, cologne and deodorant that’s uniquely him (I know I’m not the only one who does this). If I lost my sense of smell, I’d be devastated. I’d probably prefer to give up touch, over smell or taste or any of the other senses (I had this conversation with someone the other day but that’s another story).

A few weeks ago, we spent my birthday weekend at this glorious place on the Central Coast. The weekend was so relaxing, we didn’t want to leave but, when we finally did, they gave us a candle as a going away gift. It was our very own version of the candle they burn in all the rooms (I assume). It’s by a company called Cocolux and and the candle comes in a little copper pot so the heat from the candle softens the wax quicker and makes the scent really strong. It’s amazing and I think the scent might be one they do exclusively for the place we were at.

Every time I light the candle, I’m instantly transported back to our little villa with our swimming hole and day bed. If I’m feeling stressed or just want a little pick-me-up, I light it up and have a sniff and – boom – instant good mood (like right now – ahhhh sweet, sweet candle bliss). Sadly, it looks like we won’t be able to go back for our ten year anniversary (Jared is busy with work and won’t be able to take the time off) but hopefully we can go back one day. I miss that place. In the meantime, I’ll just have to make do with the candle.

780729bbd29284a40433c84ea28d298d.jpg
Image credit: Pinterest and  Pinterest

