Tags

, , , , , ,

So, thanks to finishing my final uni assignment (for this study period, not the final assignment ever!) a week early, I found myself with some time on my hands. Being an ambitious little bee, I bought some books, thinking I’d have time to read (which I have, a tiny bit) but instead I’ve found myself doing wedding stuff. To be honest, there’s not much left to do. I’ve pretty much sorted it all – except for a few minor details like whether we want a singer or band and where to hold the ceremony, which we can hopefully decide on when we get up there (we’re going up a few days early to chill out and work on our tans).

I’m not too fussed abut the music although of course I want whatever we have to be good. I’d be happy either way – with a live band/singer or a curated playlist – but Jared is quite set on having a female vocalist with an acoustic guitar. A very specific requirement, as I’m sure you’d agree. With this in mind, I’ve spent quite a few hours searching for suitable artists in the area and watching their videos online and I think I finally have a decent shortlist of people to contact and see who’s available. Then I’ll show Jared my even shorter shortlist list of what’s actually possible. There are a few contenders so we’ll just have to wait and see what they say.

I also have my second dress fitting today. This time in the yellow silk they’re using my for dress. The last fitting was in a flimsy kind of lining-like material that they use to make sure they have the right cut before actually slicing into the expensive stuff. I’m both excited and nervous at the same time; I feel like it’s going to be a whole lot of yellow but I like yellow so hopefully I’ll love it and it won’t be too overwhelming.

Oh yeah and I got my ring. After months of Pinterest pinning and searching for the right custom jeweller and then working on the design, I finally have my engagement and I fucking LOVE it. It’s soooo pretty and sparkly although I have to say I’m still getting used to wearing finger jewellery. I’ve never worn a ring before so it’s quite a weird sensation. If I’m being totally honest, if I’d had to design it from scratch (without the diamond Jared bought me), it would probably have turned out much more gemstone focused because I love the depth and range of colour you can get from stones like sapphires, emeralds and amethysts. But the ring I have now is beautiful and it feels like a joint effort (he picked the centre stone and I designed the rest) plus I still managed to sneak some sapphires in there. 🙂

Photo 25-05-2016, 10 56 19 PM

Now I just need to decide on the wedding band but I already have an idea for that. It can’t really be too fancy because the engagement ring takes up most of my finger so that takes makes a lot of the options redundant (at least in my mind). I’ll get onto that once Jared is ready to think about his so we can go back to the jeweller together.

