Tags

, , , , ,

everyone-has-a-purpose-in-life.jpg

Image credit: Cool Funny Quotes

In many ways, life is much easier now than it was hundreds of years ago, when your birth kind of determined the rest of your life. Now we have sooo many options, we can do whatever we want (well, in the western world and for some people anyway). We’re encouraged to chase our dreams, follow our passions, listen to our hearts blah blah blag. It’s all so very awesome. Except for those poor people amongst us that don’t have a clear idea what we want to do with our lives. All these possibilities actually make things a bit difficult. Not difficult in the way that being born into a poor family during the Industrial Revolution and having to work in a factory from the age of 6 or as a chimney sweep or whatever was difficult. Not that kind of difficult. Don’t get me wrong, that’s a fucking shit tonne of horror right there. I’m talking difficult in a more cerebral, ‘what-am-I-doing-here-aside-from-just-surviving?’ kind of deal.

In high school, you’d look at all the kids making plans for med school or a law career and you think, ‘meh, I’ll figure it out’. You get to your mid twenties and you haven’t “figured it out” and the “meh” is still there although perhaps edged with a touch more concern. Thirty rolls around and you’re just cruising. Life isn’t bad (in fact, it can be pretty damn good) but you don’t have that sense of purpose other more driven people have. You’re not quite sure what you’re here for or what you want to do aside from vague and nebulous goals like “be happy” and “travel the world on a sultan’s budget”.

Does anyone out there feel that way. No? Me neither. As you were. 😉

But on a serious note, I do often wonder what I’m doing with my life. We’re kind of conditioned to think we should somehow know what we should be doing. Some people do but a lot of people don’t and a lot of people end up doing a whole heap of things and all of them make them happy. For me, I just try and remind myself that, although I might not be 100% sure what I want to be doing, I do have a job that I love (most days), awesome people to work with and I have a pretty fucking fantastic life in general. I have a lot to be grateful for and, if the one thing I don’t have is a clear idea of what I want to be when I grow up, then I don’t have very much to complain about, do I?

Plus, I’m only 33, I’ve got like another 50 years to figure this shit out, right? Ha.

