Tags

, , , , , , , ,

WsgH3t0

Image credit: Imgur

Ok – good news, bad news, good news, bad news. Let’s split it up so it’s more tolerable. To who, you ask? I don’t know. Let’s share the load, ok? Less questions, more excitement/support. Yeesh, I haven’t written in ages. I thought you’d simply be excited to hear from me.

Anyway.

  • Good news: I started back at training with my PT. This is my second week back and I’m feeling good/positive. I trained with her quite a bit last year and then slacked off towards the end of year and have done pretty much sweet fuck all exercise-wise this year. I realised I was at crisis point when I came back from the US and my usually snug pencil skirts and wiggle dresses now cause my thighs to chafe – a previously heard-of-but-never-experienced phenomenon for me and one I do not in any way enjoy. On the plus side – did you know deodorant stops your thighs from chafing? I didn’t know this until recently and I wish I never had cause to (although it has been immensely helpful in my newly thigh-ed up state). Anyway, I’m told regular exercise (and a better diet) will help with these so off I go. Also, Jared is training with me most days so it’s something healthy we get to do together. Yay.
  • Bad news: this one starts as good news and then well… you’ll find out soon enough. I signed up for uni. Again. My main goal was do something stimulating for my brain and hopefully kickstart myself back into writing more regularly. However, the study plan and readings made my brain want to beat a swift exit stage left so… I withdrew. Again. Goddammit! My reasoning was that it made me so fucking tired just looking at all the things I was meant to do so figured, why bother? If what I want to do is write, find some daily prompts (did you know WordPress stopped doing them?! How dare they?!) and use those until I get back into the groove and start feeling more inspired. Do things you like. Doesn’t someone inportant say something like that? I’m sure they also say you should suffer for your art but fuck that. I’m all about the path of least resistance (but also maximum return – wishful thinking? Perhaps).
  • Good news: As of Saturday/Sunday just gone, I am one month drug-free. Not alcohol, mind you. I’ve still had a few drinks here and there but nothing that has lead to a drug-fuelled bender in over a month. This is a big deal for me. Things were getting a bit out of hand there with some record hours getting chalked up to stupid life decisions mainly involving copious amounts of cocaine and alcohol. But no more! Well, not ever, but not for at least another week . I’m giving myself permission to have a little bit of fun at the Bar Awards next week but that’s it. I will keep myself in check more often. It was seriously affecting my mental health and, as a result, my physical health because I would spend the week un-motivated to do anything. I honestly feel so much more clearheaded. I still have my moments but nothing that even comes close to the extremes I was dealing with when constantly cycling out of my weekly comedowns. Not going to say I’ll never do drugs again, but I definitely don’t want to go back to where I was before. That shit was not healthy.

Yep, so that’s about it. Seeing as I’ve given up on myself again education-wise, I’m going to be trying to be more active with my writing. I also want to focus on my exercise – get the body moving as well as the brain. All the things I promise to myself on a regular basis but seem to give up on just as quickly. Hey, what can I say? I’m not good at commitment – aside from Jared and my pets anyway, that’s pretty much all I can ever manage commit to.

This time might be different though. I could surprise you. Maybe.